By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

2021-2022 Eight Week Sessions Calendar

​Syracuse University’s important dates and deadlines for 2020-2021 eight-week sessions.

Spring 2021—Eight Week First Session

Martin Luther King Junior Day (no residential classes, University offices closed) Monday, January 18
First day of classes Monday, February 1
Add deadline Thursday, February 4
Grading option deadline Thursday, February 4
Early-semester progress report Sunday, February 7
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, February 11
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, February 11
Mid-semester progress report Sunday, February 28
Withdrawal deadline Thursday, March 18
Last day of classes Thursday, March 25
Final grades due from faculty Monday, March 29

Spring 2021—Eight Week Second Session

First day of classes Monday, March 29
Add deadline Thursday, April 1
Grading option deadline Thursday, April 1
Early-semester progress report Friday, April 2
Registration start for Summer 2021 Wednesday, April 7
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, April 8
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, April 8
Registration start for Fall 2021 Tuesday, April 20
Mid-semester progress report Monday, April 26
Withdrawal deadline Thursday, May 13
Last day of classes Thursday, May 20
Commencement Weekend Saturday, May 22 –
Sunday, May 23
Degree Award Date Sunday, May 23
Final grades due from faculty Monday, May 24

Summer 2021—Eight Week First Session

First day of classes Monday, May 24
Add deadline Thursday, May 27
Grading option deadline Thursday, May 27
Early-semester progress report Friday, May 28 -
Wednesday, June 2
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, June 3
Mid-semester progress report Monday, June 21 -
Friday, June 25
Withdrawal deadline Thursday, July 8
Last day of classes Thursday, July 15
Degree Award Date Friday, July 16
Final grades due from faculty Monday, July 19

Summer 2021—Eight Week Second Session

Cancelled for 2021

Fall 2021—Eight Week First Session

First day of classes Monday, August 30
Add deadline Thursday, September 2
Early-semester progress report Friday, September 3 – Wednesday, September 8
Grading option deadline Thursday, September 9
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, September 9
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, September 9
Mid-semester progress report Monday, September 27 – Friday, October 1
Withdrawal deadline Thursday, October 14
Last day of classes Thursday, October 21
Final grades due from faculty Monday, October 25

Fall 2021—Eight Week Second Session

First day of classes Monday, October 25
Add deadline Thursday, October 28
Early-semester progress report Friday, October 29 - Wednesday, November 3
Registration start for Spring 2022 Wednesday, November 3
Grading option deadline Thursday, November 4
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, November 4
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, November 4
Mid-semester progress report Monday, November 22 – Friday, November 26
Withdrawal deadline Thursday, December 9
Last day of classes Thursday, December 16
Final grades due from faculty Monday, December 20
Degree Award Date Wednesday, December 22

Spring 2022—Eight Week First Session

Martin Luther King Junior Day (no residential classes, University offices closed) Monday, January 17
First day of classes Tuesday, January 18
Add deadline Friday, January 21
Early-semester progress report Monday, January 24 - Thursday, January 27
Grading option deadline Friday, January 28
Religious Observance Notification deadline Friday, January 28
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Friday, January 28
Mid-semester progress report Monday, February 14 - Friday, February 18
Withdrawal deadline Friday, March 4
Last day of classes Friday, March 11
Final grades due from faculty Tuesday, March 15

Spring 2022—Eight Week Second Session

First day of classes Monday, March 14
Add deadline Thursday, March 17
Early-semester progress report Friday, March 18 - Wednesday, March 23
Registration start for Summer 2022 Wednesday, March 23
Grading option deadline Thursday, March 24
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, March 24
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, March 24
Registration start for Fall 2022 Wednesday, April 6
Mid-semester progress report Monday, April 11 - Friday, April 15
Withdrawal deadline Thursday , April 28
Last day of classes Thursday, May 5
Commencement Weekend Saturday, May 7; Sunday, May 8
Degree Award Date Sunday, May 8
Final grades due from faculty Monday, May 9

Summer 2022—Eight Week First Session

First day of classes Monday, May 9
Add deadline Thursday, May 12
Early-semester progress report Friday, May 13 – Wednesday, May 18
Grading option deadline Thursday, May 19
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, May 19
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, May 19
Mid-semester progress report Monday, June 6 – Friday, June 10
Withdrawal deadline Thursday, June 23
Degree Award Date Friday, June 24
Last day of classes Thursday, June 30
Final grades due from faculty Monday, July 4

Summer 2022—Eight Week Second Session

First day of classes Tuesday, July 5
Add deadline Friday, July 8
Early-semester progress report Monday, July 11 - Thursday, July 14
Grading option deadline Friday, July 15
Religious Observance Notification deadline Friday, July 15
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Friday, July 15
Mid-semester progress report Monday, August 1 - Friday, August 5
Withdrawal deadline Friday, August 19
Last day of classes Friday, August 26
Degree Award Date Friday, August 26
Final grades due from faculty Tuesday, August 30
All dates may be subject to change at the discretion of the University