By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

2024-2025 Eight Week Sessions Calendar

​Syracuse University’s important dates and deadlines for 2024-2025 eight-week sessions.

Fall 2023 - Eight Week First Session

 First day of classes  Monday, August 28 
Add deadline  Thursday, August 31 
Early-semester progress report  Friday, September 1 – Wednesday, September 6 
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class  Thursday, September 7 
Grading option deadline  Thursday, September 7 
Religious Observance Notification deadline  Thursday, September 7 
Mid-semester progress report  Monday, September 25 – Friday, September 29 
Withdrawal deadline  Thursday, October 12 
Last day of classes  Thursday, October 19 
Final grades due from faculty  Monday, October 23 

Fall 2023 - Eight Week Second Session

 First day of classes  Monday, October 23 
Add deadline  Thursday, October 26 
Early-semester progress report  Friday, October 27 - Wednesday, November 1 
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class  Thursday, November 2 
Grading option deadline  Thursday, November 2 
Religious Observance Notification deadline  Thursday, November 2 
Registration start for Spring 2024  Wednesday, November 8 
Mid-semester progress report  Monday, November 20 – Friday, November 24 
Withdrawal deadline  Thursday, December 7 
Last day of classes  Thursday, December 14 
Final grades due from faculty  Monday, December 18 
Degree Award Date  Friday, December 22 

Spring 2024 - Eight Week First Session

 Martin Luther King Junior Day (no residential classes, University offices closed)  Monday, January 15 
First day of classes  Tuesday, January 16 
Add deadline  Friday, January 19 
Early-semester progress report  Monday, January 22 - Thursday, January 25 
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class  Friday, January 26 
Grading option deadline  Friday, January 26 
Religious Observance Notification deadline  Friday, January 26 
Mid-semester progress report  Monday, February 12 - Friday, February 16 
Withdrawal deadline  Friday, March 1 
Last day of classes  Friday, March 8 
Final grades due from faculty  Tuesday, March 12 

Spring 2024 - Eight Week Second Session

First day of classes  Monday, March 11 
Add deadline  Thursday, March 14 
Early-semester progress report  Friday, March 15 - Wednesday, March 20 
Registration start for Summer 2024  Wednesday, March 20 
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class  Thursday, March 21 
Grading option deadline  Thursday, March 21 
Religious Observance Notification deadline  Thursday, March 21 
Registration start for Fall 2024  Wednesday, April 3 
Mid-semester progress report  Monday, April 8 - Friday, April 12 
Withdrawal deadline  Thursday, April 25 
Last day of classes  Thursday, May 2 
Final grades due from faculty  Monday, May 6 
Commencement Weekend  Saturday, May 11; Sunday, May 12 
Degree Award Date  Sunday, May 12 

Summer 2024 - Eight Week First Session

First day of classes  Wednesday, May 8 
Add deadline  Monday, May 13 
Early-semester progress report  Tuesday, May 14 – Friday, May 17 
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class  Monday, May 20 
Grading option deadline  Monday, May 20 
Religious Observance Notification deadline  Monday, May 20 
Mid-semester progress report  Monday, June 3 – Friday, Jun 7 
Withdrawal deadline  Friday, June 21 
Last day of classes  Friday, June 28 
Final grades due from faculty  Tuesday, July 2 
Degree Award Date  Friday, June 28 

Summer 2024 - Eight Week Second Session

First day of classes  Tuesday, July 2 
Add deadline  Friday, July 5 
Early-semester progress report  Monday, July 8 - Thursday, July 11 
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class  Friday, July 12 
Grading option deadline  Friday, July 12 
Religious Observance Notification deadline  Friday, July 12 
Mid-semester progress report  Monday, July 29 – Friday, August 2 
Withdrawal deadline  Friday, August 16 
Last day of classes  Friday, August 23 
Final grades due from faculty  Tuesday, August 27 
Degree Award Date  Friday, August 23 

Fall 2024 - Eight Week First Session

First day of classes Monday, August 26
Add deadline Thursday, August 29
Early-semester progress report Friday, August 30 – Wednesday, September 4
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, September 5
Grading option deadline Thursday, September 5
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, September 5
Mid-semester progress report Monday, September 23 – Friday, September 27
Withdrawal deadline Thursday, October 10
Last day of classes Thursday, October 17
Final grades due from faculty Monday, October 21

Fall 2024 - Eight Week Second Session

First day of classes Monday, October 21
Add deadline Thursday, October 24
Early-semester progress report Friday, October 25 - Wednesday, October 30
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, October 31
Grading option deadline Thursday, October 31
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, October 31
Registration start for Spring 2025 Wednesday, November 6
Mid-semester progress report Monday, November 18 – Friday, November 22
Withdrawal deadline Thursday, December 5
Last day of classes Thursday, December 12
Final grades due from faculty Monday, December 16
Degree Award Date Friday, December 20

Spring 2025 - Eight Week First Session

First day of classes Monday, March 10
Add deadline Thursday, March 13
Early-semester progress report Friday, March 14 - Wednesday, March 19
Registration start for Summer 2025 Wednesday, March 19
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, March 20
Grading option deadline Thursday, March 20
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, March 20
Registration start for Fall 2025 Wednesday, April 2
Mid-semester progress report Monday, March 31 - Friday, April 4
Withdrawal deadline Thursday , April 24
Last day of classes Thursday, May 1
Final grades due from faculty Monday, May 5
Commencement Weekend Saturday, May 10; Sunday, May 11
Degree Award Date Sunday, May 1

Spring 2025 - Eight Week Second Session

First day of classes Monday, March 10
Add deadline Thursday, March 13
Early-semester progress report Friday, March 14 - Wednesday, March 19
Registration start for Summer 2025 Wednesday, March 19
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Thursday, March 20
Grading option deadline Thursday, March 20
Religious Observance Notification deadline Thursday, March 20
Registration start for Fall 2025 Wednesday, April 2
Mid-semester progress report Monday, March 31 - Friday, April 4
Withdrawal deadline Thursday , April 24
Last day of classes Thursday, May 1
Final grades due from faculty Monday, May 5
Commencement Weekend Saturday, May 10; Sunday, May 11
Degree Award Date Sunday, May 11

Summer 2025 - Eight Week First Session

First day of classes Wednesday, May 7
Add deadline Monday , May 12
Early-semester progress report Tuesday, May 13 –Friday, May 16
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Monday, May 19
Grading option deadline Monday, May 1
Religious Observance Notification deadline Monday, May 19
Mid-semester progress report Wednesday, May 28 – Tuesday, June 3
Withdrawal deadline Friday, June 20
Last day of classes Friday, June 27
Final grades due from faculty Tuesday, July 1
Degree Award Date Friday, June 27

Summer 2025 - Eight Week Second Session

First day of classes Tuesday , July 1
Add deadline Monday , July 7
Early-semester progress report Monday, July 7 - Thursday, July 10
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class Friday, July 11
Grading option deadline Friday, July 11
Religious Observance Notification deadline Friday, July 11
Mid-semester progress report T uesday , July 22 – Monday , July 28
Withdrawal deadline Friday, August 15
Last day of classes Friday, August 22
Final grades due from faculty Tuesday, August 26
Degree Award Date Friday, August 22

All dates may be subject to change at the discretion of the University