2019-2020 Academic Year Calendar

The academic calendar lists important dates and deadlines for the fall and spring semesters, as well as summer sessions.

Fall 2019

Thursday, August 1
Registration for new graduate students
Monday August 12 - Friday August 16
Schedule adjustment for returning undergraduate students
Saturday, August 24 & Sunday, August 25
Registration for new and readmitted undergraduate students
Monday, August 26
First day of classes/Extended Campus Classes
Monday, August 26 - Tuesday, September 3
Late registration & Schedule adjustment
Monday, September 2
Labor Day (no classes, University offices closed)
Tuesday, September 3
Add deadline*
Monday, September 9 - Friday, September 13
Early-semester progress report
Monday, September 9
Grading option deadline to elect or rescind pass/fail or audit
Monday, September 16
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class
Thursday, October 10 - Sunday October 20
Mid-semester progress report
Monday, October 14
Midterm
Wednesday, November 6 - Tuesday, January 21
Registration for Spring 2020
Wednesday, November 6
Registration for Winterlude begins
Friday, November 22
Withdrawal deadline
Sunday, November 24 - Sunday, December 1
Thanksgiving Break (no classes, University offices open Mon. through Wed.)
Friday, December 6
Last day of classes
Saturday, December 7 and Sunday December 8; Tuesday, December 10 and Thursday, December 12 (a.m. only)
Reading days
Monday, December 9; Wednesday, December 11; Friday, December 13; Tuesday, December 10 and Thursday, December 12 (p.m. only)
Final examinations
Thursday, December 12
Last day of Extended Campus classes
Friday, December 13
Last day of the semester
Monday, December 16
Winterlude begins
Tuesday, December 17
Winterlude add deadline
Friday, December 27
Final grades due from faculty
Friday, December 20
Winterlude Academic/Financial drop deadline
Friday, December 20
Degree Award Date

Spring 2020

Thursday, January 2
Registration for new graduate students
Monday, January 6
Winterlude withdrawal deadline
Friday, January 10
Winterlude ends
Saturday, January 11
Registration for new/returning graduate students who did not previously register, and new/ readmitted undergraduate students
Monday, January 13
First day of classes/Extended Campus Classes
Monday, January 13 - Tuesday, January 21
Late registration & Schedule adjustment
Tuesday, January 14
Winterlude grades due
Monday, January 20
Martin Luther King Jr. Day (no classes, University offices closed)
Tuesday, January 21
Add deadline
Monday, January 27
Grading option deadline
Monday, January 27 – Friday, January 31
Early-semester progress report
Monday, February 3
Academic/Financial deadline to drop class
Tuesday, March 3
Midterm
Wednesday, March 4 – Wednesday, March 18
Mid-semester progress report
Sunday, March 15 - Sunday, March 22
Spring Break (no classes, University offices open)
Wednesday, March 18
Registration for Summer 2020
Monday, April 6 - Wednesday, May 6
Registration for Fall 2020
Tuesday, April 14
Withdrawal deadline
Tuesday, April 28
Last day of classes
Wednesday, April 29; Saturday May 2; Sunday May 3
Reading days
Thursday April 30 and Friday May 1; Monday May 4 - Wednesday May 6
Final examinations
Wednesday, May 6
Last day of the Semester
Thursday, May 7
Last day of Extended Campus classes
Saturday, May 9 and Sunday, May 10
Commencement Weekend
Sunday, May 10
Degree Award Date
Wednesday, May 13
Final grades due from faculty

Summer 2020

Monday, May 11 - Friday, May 22
Maymester
Monday, May 18 - Friday, June 26
Summer Session I
Monday, May 18 - Friday, August 7
Combined Summer Session
Monday, May 25
Memorial Day (no classes, University offices closed)
Friday, June 5 – Thursday, June 11
Mid-semester progress report Summer Session I
Friday, June 26
Degree Award Date
Friday, June 26 – Friday, July 3
Mid-semester progress report Combined Summer Session
Friday, July 3
Independence Day (no classes, University offices closed)
Monday, June 29 - Friday, August 7
Summer Session II
Friday, July 17 – Wednesday, July 22
Mid-semester progress report Summer Session II
Friday, August 28
Degree Award Date

*Classes that do not follow the regular semester calendar may have deadlines that vary from these dates. Contact the appropriate department that offers these classes or programs for additional information. All dates may be subject to change at the discretion of the University.