By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

2022-2023 Academic Year Calendar

The academic calendar lists important dates and deadlines for the fall and spring semesters, as well as summer sessions.

Skip to:

Spring 2022

Monday, January 3 Registration for new graduate students
Monday, January 17 Martin Luther King Junior Day (no residential classes, University offices closed)
Saturday, January 22 – Sunday, January 23 Winter Welcome new undergraduate registration
Monday, January 24 First day of classes
Monday, January 24 – Monday, January 31 Late registration and schedule adjustment
Monday, January 31 Add deadline
Monday, February 7 – Friday, February 11 Early-semester progress report
Monday, February 14 Academic/Financial deadline to drop class
Monday, February 14 Grading option deadline to elect or rescind audit
Monday, February 14 Grading option deadline to elect or rescind pass/fail
Monday, February 14 Religious Observance Notification Deadline
Sunday, March 13 – Sunday March 20 Spring Break
Monday, March 21 Midterm
Tuesday, March 22 – Tuesday, April 5 Mid-semester progress report
Wednesday, March 23 Registration for Summer 2022
Wednesday, April 13 – Wednesday, May 11 Registration for Fall 2022
Tuesday, April 19 Withdrawal deadline
Wednesday, May 4 Last day of classes
Thursday, May 5; Saturday, May 7 – Sunday, May 8; Tuesday, May 10 Reading days
Friday, May 6; Monday, May 9; Wednesday, May 11 – Thursday, May 12 Final examinations
Thursday, May 12 Last day of the Semester
Saturday, May 14; Sunday, May 15 Commencement Weekend
Sunday, May 15 Degree Award Date
Thursday, May 19 Final grades due from faculty

Summer 2022

Monday, May 16 – Friday, May 27 Maymester
Monday, May 16 – Friday, August 26 Regular Academic Session
Monday, May 23 – Friday, July 1 Six Week First Session
Monday, May 23 – Friday, August 12 Twelve Week Session
Monday, May 30 Memorial Day (University offices closed)
Thursday, June 9 Maymester grades due
Friday, June 10 - Wednesday, June 15 Mid-semester progress report Six Week First Session
Monday, June 20 Juneteenth (no residential classes)
Friday, July 1 Degree Award Date
Friday, July 1 - Friday, July 8 Mid-semester progress report Twelve Week Session
Monday, July 4 Independence Day (University offices closed)
Tuesday, July 5 – Friday, August 12 Six Week Second Session
Thursday, July 14 Six Week First Session grades due
Friday, July 22 - Wednesday, July 27 Mid-semester progress report Six Week Second Session
Thursday, Aug 25 Twelve Week and Six Week Second Session grades due
Friday, August 26 Degree Award Date
Thursday, September 1 Regular Academic Session grades due

Fall 2022

Monday, August 1 Registration for new graduate and undergraduate students
Monday, August 15 – Tuesday, September 6 Schedule adjustment for returning undergraduate students
Thursday, August 25 – Sunday, August 28 Syracuse University Welcome
Saturday, August 27 – Tuesday, September 6 Schedule adjustment for new undergraduate students
Monday, August 29 First day of classes/Extended Campus Classes
Monday, August 29 – Tuesday, September 6 Late registration
Monday, September 5 Labor Day (no classes, University offices closed)
Tuesday, September 6 Add deadline
Monday, September 12 – Friday, September 16 Early-semester progress report
Monday, September 19 Academic/Financial deadline to drop class
Monday, September 19 Grading option deadline (choose pass/fail or audit)
Monday, September 19 Religious observance notification deadline
Thursday, October 13 – Sunday, October 23 Mid-semester progress reporting
Monday, October 17 Midterm
Wednesday, November 2 – Tuesday, January 24 Registration for Spring 2023
Wednesday, November 2 Registration for Winterlude begins
Friday, November 18 Withdrawal deadline
Sunday, November 20 – Sunday, November 27 Thanksgiving Break (no residential classes, University offices open Monday through Wednesday)
Friday, December 9 Last day of classes
Saturday, December 10 – Sunday, December 11; Tuesday am, December 13 and Thursday am, December 15 Reading days
Monday, December 12 -Friday December 16;Tuesday and Thursday pm only Final examinations
Friday, December 16 Last day of the semester
Wednesday, December 21 Degree Award Date
Tuesday, December 27 Final grades due from faculty

*More detailed dates are made available to campus on the Office of the Registrar Answers site.

Winterlude 2022 (Spring Session)

Wednesday, November 2 Registration for Winterlude begins
Monday, December 19 Winterlude begins
Tuesday, December 20 Winterlude add deadline
Friday, December 23 Winterlude pass/fail deadline
Friday, December 23 Winterlude academic/financial drop deadline
Monday, January 9 Winterlude withdrawal deadline
Friday, January 13 Winterlude ends
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King Junior Day (no residential classes, University offices closed)
Tuesday, January 17 Winterlude grades due

Spring 2023

Monday, January 2 Registration for new graduate students
Saturday, January 14 – Sunday, January 15 Winter Welcome new undergraduate registration
Monday, January 16 Martin Luther King Junior Day (no residential classes, University offices closed)
Tuesday, January 17 First day of classes
Tuesday, January 17 – Tuesday, January 24 Late registration and schedule adjustment
Tuesday, January 24 Add deadline
Monday, January 30 – Friday, February 3 Early-semester progress report
Tuesday, February 7 Academic/Financial deadline to drop class
Tuesday, February 7 Grading option deadline (choose pass/fail or audit)
Tuesday, February 7 Religious Observance Notification Deadline
Tuesday, March 7 Midterm
Wednesday, March 8 – Wednesday, March 22 Mid-semester progress report
Sunday, March 12 – Sunday March 19 Spring Break
Wednesday, March 22 Registration for Summer 2023
Wednesday, April 5 – Friday, June 30 Registration for Fall 2023
Tuesday, April 18 Withdrawal deadline
Monday, May 1 Last day of classes
Tuesday, May 2 – Wednesday, May 3; Saturday, May 6 – Sunday, May 7 Reading days
Thursday, May 4 – Friday, May 5; Monday, May 8 – Tuesday, May 9 Final examinations
Tuesday, May 9 Last day of the Semester
Saturday, May 13; Sunday, May 14 Commencement Weekend
Sunday, May 14 Degree Award Date
Monday, May 15 Final grades due from faculty

Summer 2023

Monday, May 15 – Friday, May 26 Maymester
Monday, May 15 – Friday, August 25 Regular Academic Session
Wednesday, June 28 – Wednesday July 12 Mid-semester progress report
Monday, May 29 Memorial Day (University offices closed)
Monday, May 22 – Friday, June 30 Six Week First Session
Monday, May 22 – Friday, August 11 Twelve Week Session
Friday, June 9 – Wednesday, June 14 Mid-semester progress report Six Week First Session
Monday, June 19 Juneteenth (no residential classes)
Friday, June 30 Degree Award Date
Friday, June 30 – Friday, July 7 Mid-semester progress report Twelve Week Session
Monday, July 3 – Friday, August 11 Six Week Second Session
Tuesday, July 4 Independence Day (University offices closed)
Friday, July 21 – Wednesday, July 26 Mid-semester progress report Six Week Second Session
Friday, August 25 Degree Award Date

*Classes that do not follow the regular semester calendar may have deadlines that vary from these dates. Contact the appropriate department that offers these classes or programs for additional information. All dates may be subject to change at the discretion of the University.