By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Chancellor Kent Syverud

Kent Syverud is Chancellor and President of Syracuse University. Appointed by the University’s Board of Trustees in September 2013, he assumed the leadership post in January 2014, becoming the 12th leader of the University since its founding in 1870.

Chancellor Syverud speaking in front of a podium in Hendricks Chapel

Chancellor Syverud came to Syracuse University from Washington University in St. Louis, where he served as Dean and Ethan A.H. Shepley Distinguished University Professor since 2006. Prior to that, he served eight years as Dean at Vanderbilt Law School. During his tenure at Washington University, he led efforts to create university-wide programs in Washington, D.C., in partnership with the Brookings Institution and in New York in partnership with the Olin School. He also advanced efforts to expand online education opportunities, including development of an innovative online master’s degree program.

Upon his inauguration, Chancellor Syverud installed three different leadership units: the Chancellor’s Executive Team, the Chancellor’s Council and the University Leadership Team.