By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

About the Board

The Board of Trustees is the governing body of Syracuse University, responsible for the educational mission and fiscal policies of the University. Members of the board guide the University toward its goals and vision and serve the public trust.

Headshot of Jeffrey M. Scruggs.

Board Chairman Jeffrey M. Scruggs

Jeffrey M. Scruggs is a managing director at Goldman Sachs & Co., where he is head of the public sector and infrastructure banking group within the Investment Banking Division. He joined Goldman Sachs in 2008 as a managing director.

Office of the Board of Trustees

Emails intended for the chair of the board should be sent in care of Mary Opperman at

Mary George Opperman
Senior Vice President and University Secretary

Rachel C. Harms
Senior Associate University Secretary

Brooke K. Wears
Associate University Secretary

Kristi Johnson
Board Program Manager

Ally K. Mead
Senior Director, Board Events

Tressa A. Sobotka
Executive Administrator

Sarah Valenti
Director of Administration

James M. Zullo
Director of Information Technology and Data Analytics