By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.

Christine Larsen headshot.

Vice Chair, Elected 2021
Elected to the Board: 2011
Voting Trustee

Christine E. Larsen is an experienced independent board director, chief operations officer and leader of digital transformation and growth. Prior to leaving First Data in 2019, she served as COO and was instrumental in the company’s return to growth and efficiency drive as part of its successful path back to the public markets and, ultimately, the Fiserv merger. Previously, Larsen had a 25-plus year career leading technology and operations across all lines of business at JPMorgan Chase, held a number of senior executive roles at Citi and was senior manager in the Financial Services technology practice at Accenture (Andersen Consulting). She now serves on the board of directors of the Canadian Imperial Bank Commerce, a $60 billion market cap and leading North American bank as a member of the Talent and Compensation Committee;  Alloy, a growth stage fintech in the identity space; and M1 Finance, a personal finance super app. Larsen is also an active limited partner advisor at NYCA, a venture capital firm focused on connecting innovative companies to the global financial system and a board member for Disaster Tech, an emerging data and technology company.

A passionate advocate of educational access for all, Larsen led JPMorgan Chase's collaborations with Syracuse University and the University of Delaware, developing cross-disciplinary curricula to prepare students for large-scale computing in global enterprises. She co-founded Citigroup's Global Transaction Services Women's Council and founded First Data’s Women's Leadership Council, both of which provide educational and business sponsored programs for women.

She earned a bachelor’s degree in English from Cornell College (Phi Beta Kappa) in Iowa in 1983 and a master’s degree in library science from Syracuse University’s School of Information Studies (iSchool), as a University Fellow, the following year.

Larsen is a vice chair of the Board through early May 2025 and chair of the Board Academic Affairs Committee through early May 2025. She also serves on the Board Executive, Board Organization and Nominating, Advancement and External Affairs, and Facilities Committees; is a member of the Advisory Committee on University Climate, Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Accessibility; and chairs the Academic Affairs Working Group. Larsen chaired the Ad Hoc Workgroup on Trustee Philanthropy, was a member of the Invest Syracuse and Stewardship Ad Hoc Workgroups, and the Special Committee on University Climate, Diversity and Inclusion. Her Syracuse University service includes former membership on the iSchool Board of Advisors. She served on the search committees for the Chancellor in 2013, the dean of the iSchool from 2018-19, the provost and chief academic officer in 2021 and the vice president for research in 2022. Larsen received the 2021 Dritz Trustee of the Year Award for outstanding Board service.

Larsen has supported various initiatives in the College of Arts and Sciences, Hendricks Chapel, the iSchool, the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs, and alumni relations. She has generously provided for the University through her estate.