By continuing to use this site, you agree to the use of cookies in accordance with our privacy policy.


The Chips+Quantum cluster represents a rapidly advancing field generating new technologies, such as quantum computers, that have the potential to be transformative for society. In a quantum computer, the individual bits follow the laws of quantum mechanics, and thus are quantum bits, or qubits. Qubits exhibit some of the counterintuitive properties of quantum mechanics, including the ability to exist in a superposition of two states and the possibility of entanglement with other qubits. A processor able to take advantage of these elements would be capable of computations that are impossible on the best conventional computers. For certain calculations, this translates to the difference between a run time of minutes versus millennia.

While quantum computers are still at a relatively early stage of development, progress has been rapid in recent years. A wide range of industry and government stands to benefit from access to quantum processing capabilities, with potential impacts in the development of new drugs and materials, computing solutions to hard optimization problems, and cryptography and secure communications. The Chips+Quantum cluster builds on Syracuse’s existing strengths, forges connections across disciplines at the University, and helps to expand our collaborations with Department of Defense scientists, including at the nearby Air Force Research Lab in Rome, New York.

Recent Notable Awards

  • Britton Plourde, Superconducting Metamaterials for Entanglement Generation and Quantum Interacting, Air Force Research Laborator
  • Simon Catterall, Foundations of Quantum Computing for Gauge Theories and Gravity, Department of Energy
  • Jay Hubisz, Bridging Quantum Algorithms: From HEP Theory to Quantum Simulation, CUSE Grant

Primary Contact

Britton Plourde (physics)
Stefan Ballmer (physics)

Cluster Hire

Ivan Pechenezhskiy (physics)
Pankaj Jha (electrical engineering and computer science)
Georgia Mansell (physics)

Affiliated Faculty

Simon Catterall (physics)
Jay Hubisz (physics)
Eric Schiff (physics)
Ari Chakraborty (chemistry)
Mat Maye (chemistry)
Jae Oh (engineering and computer science)
Craig Cahillane (physics)