Syracuse University

Board Members

2013-2014 Syracuse University Alumni Association Mission and Board Members

The Association is formed to promote the general welfare and interests of Syracuse University as an institution committed to promoting learning through teaching, research, scholarship, creative accomplishment, and service. The Association shall create an environment, in which Syracuse University graduates, former students, current students, and friends become and stay connected to the University,

The Association shall serve in an advisory capacity and shall have no fiduciary responsibility to the University. The Association should serve as the umbrella organization for University alumni and strengthen and grow the SU global community by:
  • Acting as ambassadors to and for Syracuse University
  • Supporting the University financially and by encouraging others to do so
  • Working with the University to facilitate ongoing access to knowledge, services and opportunities
  • Identifying desirable candidates for admission and connecting with current students, young alumni, and alumni in meaningful ways that create lifelong engagement and commitment to the University.

Officers and Executive Committee:


Laurie B. Taishoff '84 NEW, Annapolis, MD

Vice President
Gisele A. Marcus '89 WSM, Prosper, TX

Vice President

Mark J. Verone '95 NEW, Inverness, IL

Alumni Relations Representative
Matthew R. Manfra, Assistant Vice President for Alumni Engagement

Regional Advancement Representative
Deborah J. Armstrong G'10 MAX, Interim Vice President, Development
Tammy S. Schlafer, Executive Director of Development, Annual Giving

Lil B. O'Rourke  '77 A&S, G'04 MAX, Secretary Board of Trustees and VP Principal Gifts

Louis G. Marcoccia '68, G'69 WSM, Treasurer  Board of Trustees and Executive VP & CFO

Committee Chairs:
Andrew D. Laver '01 VPA, Cherry Hill, NJ

Kristen L. Krikorian '99 WSM, South Boston, MA

Generation Orange

Sam Clarvit '10 i-School, New York, NY

Gisele A. Marcus '89 WSM, Prosper, TX

Tracy M. Barash '89 WSM, Atlanta, GA

Planning Task Force
Mark J. Verone '95 NEW, Inverness, IL

Social Media
Danielle Matfess, '13 WSM, Topsfield, MA

General Board Members:
Reginald J. Acloque '99 i-School, Mableton, GA
Hessah H. Al-Ojayan '12 WSM, Kuwait
Ann-Marie Buerkle G'94 LAW, Syracuse, NY
Anthony N. Colon '03 i-School, New York, NY 
Franklyn Duporte '99 MAX, Washington, DC
Mark T. Erwin G'12 MAX, Falls Church, VA
Jennifer D. Erzen '97 VPA, Manlius, NY
Papiya Gupta '01 i-School, Herndon, VA
Carolyn C. Lindheim '84 WSM/NEW, Wynnewood, PA
Manuel E. Mazo '88 LCS, Guaynabo, PR
Robert P. Mitchell G'75 NEW, Cambridge, MA
Marc Penziner '01 NEW, New York, NY
Sara Flaum Ressler '07 WSM, Rochester, NY
John D. Robinson '90 NEW, Glenmont, NY
Douglas M. Sherk '78 NEW, Rancho Mirage, CA
Student Representatives:
Philip "PJ" Alampi '14 A&S, Glen Ridge, NJ
Musu N. Sirleaf '15 NEW, Denver, CO

SU Trustees Appointed to Alumni Association Board of Directors:

Joanne Fogel Alper '72 A&S, Arlington, VA
Robert E. Dineen, Jr. '66 LAW, Sherman, CT
Stuart Frankel '61 WSM, Wainscott, NY
James D. Kuhn '70, G '72 WSM, New York, NY
Robert Miron '59 WSM, Syracuse, NY
Deryck Palmer '78 A&S, Maplewood, NJ




People give to Syracuse University for many reasons. But regardless of the reason, at the heart of each gift is the desire to make a difference—to provide the SU community with the means to change lives, communities, and the world for the better.
Learn more

Alumni Photos


View photos from Alumni regional and club events.

Alumni Photo Gallery